New and completely lost.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

redruby129

Oct 10, 2016
New England
Hello all!
I am new to the pellet stove world.. and lost at where to begin! I've been looking through some posts here and just still don't know what to do about our unit. We purchased a 1300 sq ft. split level home with electric baseboard heat and a pellet stove in the basement. Originally we were thinking of just converting to gas and not even bothering with the pellet stove, but since living here we are curious about keeping it. We both do not have experience using it. Right now we have a tentative date for a pellet stove company to come and take a look at it. We have an Avalon Newport Avanti. I have the owner manual, can't seem to find what year the unit is. The stove appears to be on some sort of heat protective mat. There is corrosion on the pipe and the unit itself. The unit is not centered in the room, but off to the side and the pipe is at a diagonal. Why might that happen?

There is a wire coming from the unit to a thermostat.. looks like the thermostat should be mounted to a wall maybe? Is that normal?

What should we do first? Wait to fire it up until the pellet stove company guy is here? Should we attempt it on our own? We have not purchased any pellets just yet.

I am hopefully attaching a picture to this post!

Attachments

• IMG_3058.JPG
    IMG_3058.JPG
    87.1 KB · Views: 267