1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

New BK King install, first burns.

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by BrianN, May 2, 2013.

  1. BrianN

    BrianN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    241
    Loc:
    Central BC
    I had my new King installed yesterday and lit my first burn in. Man, what a nasty smell :), I know, it's to be expected, and, it is all better now. We just cranked it up and opened all the windows. Surprisingly, the house was still getting warmer with all the windows open.
    So, after the smoke and smell cleared in the house, we closed the windows and I slowly turned the t-stat down to a desirable level. Then, I looked at the CAT t-stat and noticed it had passed the "active" zone. Is this going to do damage to the CAT?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,479
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    So your cat probe indicated hotter than the active range? Those fresh cats are particularly responsive.
  3. alforit

    alforit Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    259
    Loc:
    Western Washington

    Did you do your break-in fires first?
  4. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,330
    Loc:
    SE MI
    When it was new, my stove would peg the probe, if there was a peg. Like Highbeam said, the new cat will burn hot at first. It will settle down. Give it a little more air or open the bypass if it makes you nervous. An active flame leaves less smoke for the cat to burn. Also be aware that the probe is pretty slow to react. I read somewhere there is up to an eight minute lag time between what is really happening and what the probe shows.

    Even though it is a Blaze King, we still need a picture. Just for proof ;)
  5. BrianN

    BrianN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    241
    Loc:
    Central BC
    Break in fires? Umm, of course :)
    Here is the stove.
    King 1.jpg King 2.jpg King 3.jpg
    And here is the part I don't like about the install. Not sure if it is an Excel product problem, or, the installers didn't bring the correct part, but, the black outer sleeve is too short. Don't know if there is a longer sleeve available or not.
    King Chimney.jpg
    lopiliberty and raybonz like this.
  6. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    44,524
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    That looks like they brought too long a horiz. pipe off of the tee, like an 18" instead of a 12".

    I'd ask the installer to put in the right sized part.
  7. Machria

    Machria Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,113
    Loc:
    Brookhaven, Long Island
    You could easily paint it with black stove paint....

    You know, that looks very nice! A rarity for BK's! ;)

    Enjoy and good luck with it!
  8. alforit

    alforit Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    259
    Loc:
    Western Washington

    It probably has to do with some stove pipe heat clearance thing........I would just call them and ask them why they did it that way..

    I would just paint it like Machria said.

    Blaze King should come and take some photos of your setup and use them on a new brochure ....they would probably sell more of them. :) ........ Looks Great. !
  9. bogydave

    bogydave Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Loc:
    So Cent ALASKA
    Cat should be fine.
    About the only way to hurt the cat is to open the door before bypassing, when it's cherry red.
    Burning stuff other than wood can ruin the cat too.
  10. webby3650

    webby3650 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,668
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    It looks fine to me. They just should have painted it for you.
    By looking at the glass it looks like everything is going just as it should for a BK. ;lol
    Don't worry about the break-in fires, it's a steel stove. The only thing they really want to make sure of is that you cure the paint by keeping it around 500 degrees for the first few hours. I doubt it got any hotter than that.
  11. blueguy

    blueguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Loc:
    Rusagonis, NB, CANADA
    +1. My install uses the Excel piece like the OPs, and you cannot see any of the thimble. The black piece actually goes part way into the wall. The horizontal pipe length is what sets the distance.
  12. Dave A.

    Dave A. Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    616
    Loc:
    SE PA
    Is the vertical pipe not actually plumb? It looks tilted in the photo. Really doesn't look like it was installed right. As said, looks like that thimble should be more in the wall. And if that's how professional installers do it, I think I'd want to do it myself (but then what do I know -- my only experience is with inserts and liners).
  13. webby3650

    webby3650 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,668
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    What you are seeing is a wall radiation shield. The black piece telescopes over it, it's made for all different wall thicknesses. They simply should have trimmed it back or painted it. No big deal. It's a double wall piece and the chimney passes through it. It could have been shorter, but then they would have used a piece of double wall pipe Instead. Same end result.

    Attached Files:

  14. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,479
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    So that flange is bolted to the outside of the house and the longer side of the galvinized shield passes into the wall? It must be that long to be usable on a 12" thick wall!
  15. BrianN

    BrianN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    241
    Loc:
    Central BC
    Yes, I realize that. There are an 18" and a 12" shield. The one they installed was the 18". If, they had used the 12", it would not have been a problem, and the black sleeve would have slid right into the wall. Not a problem.
  16. webby3650

    webby3650 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,668
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    Yes, but it still isn't a problem. They used what they had with them.

Share This Page