new contruction stove plans

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fisherman73

Jul 11, 2008
southern oregon
I have a few questions regarding constructing my hearth in my new home. It is currently dryed in and nearly ready for insulation. I have been working on running my chimney pipe. My questions however are about constructing a faux river rock corner hearth. How should I begin? Place backer board over sheet rock? Or place backer board instead of sheetrock ? I plan to build up the floor approx 1 foot then top with slate and cover the toe with rock. This is my first time attempting something like this and any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance

I don't have much experience with the manufactured stone, but a 1" air space behind the backer board may not be a bad idea.

My original plan was to frame over the sheet rock to give my stone back some more depth but then was thinking that it would take up more of my already tight corner. Any body else have any experience building a hearth like this from scratch ?

We'll need to know the stove first. Then we need to know whether you are going build with the clearances from the stove direct to combustibles or for clearances as defined to an NFPA approved wall sheild.

The stove is a vc encore. The clearance is negotable. I have already purchased the heat shields but was wondering if I really need them. What is the minimum air clearance required for no shields ? And does the rock mantel count as a "combustable"