1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

new englander 49 trcpm heat problem

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Heather1974, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I have a New Englander 49 trcpm, second winter running. Currently burning Green Supreme, was burning Natures Heat, left over from last year. Recently bought and hooked up wireless thermostat.​
    When I hooked up thermostat, stove keep going out. Called New Englander Customer Service (early in heating season) Spoke to friendly helpful man. We went through a couple of things checking the setting on my stove. They were wrong,he said, hence the shut down. He helped my adjust them.( the three buttons at the bottom) Put it to his setting and stove ran.​
    Please keep in mind last year i ran stove without thermostat. Heated house throughly had to open window in bedroom at night, and shut stove down stove to cool house, sometimes. Ran it at 5 and 5 ( blower and Heat range) Before setting change stove heated us out house.​
    With the warmer temps in New England this winter so far, stove hadnt been fully tested. But i did notice that it didnt seem to be doing as good of a job as last year. Today the temp outside is 29 with a good stiff breeze my house is 64. Last year my house would of around 70 74...​
    Expecting colder weather this week dont think stove is up to par. This is my only heat source, furnace died, waiting on taxes to replace( furnace never came on last year while running pellet stove keep on for back up)​
    I think it something to do with setting at the bottom three buttons. I am still new to my pellet stove and am not familair with how to adjust these.​
    I've ghosted this site for a bit an noticed people are full of knowledge and helpful. Even some of the New Englander customer service reps haunt and answer questions. I know i wont be able to get through via phone to customer service with holiday, and i cant take a day out of work to get a hold of them. Want to be warm...Help!!!! Thank you for your responses.​



    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Just wanted to add running a 9 and 9 right now...
  3. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Well, the first thing I'd do for now is to disconnect the thermostat from the stove, and re-install the jumper wire that was there before. The hopefully it will continue running and you'll have heat while we ponder your problem.

    Was the stove and exhaust system COMPLETELY cleaned inside & out before this new heating season?

    BTW, those Green Supreme are NOT great pellets. They may be OK during the shoulder seasons (fall & spring), but not for the winter.

    What settings are the bottom 3 at right now?
    stoveguy2esw likes this.
  4. slvrblkk

    slvrblkk Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,185
    Loc:
    Northampton, PA
    Honestly....you should go grab a bag or two of better pellets if you have access to some....IMO, those Green Supremes are an average pellet at best (heat wise)....
  5. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I dont think disconnecting the thermostat will do anything... I know green supreme is an average pellet, it does burn hotter than the other kind i had. I have a small thermoater used in cars stuck in vent. I have heat, just not as much as i had last year.
    I would love to check settings on bottom, in my first post i think i was asking for help on how to check them. If i didnt make that clear , my aplogizes. How do i check them?
  6. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Well, we're just going by what you said ..."When I hooked up thermostat, stove keep going out." Why do you say it won't work??

    You also said "Please keep in mind last year i ran stove without thermostat. Heated house throughly had to open window"

    If you don't give any more info, no one here can help you out.
  7. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,960
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    hi heather and welcome to the hearth, i agree in the short term, get the unit back off the stat for now until im able to discuss it with you do a thorough plates off cleaning including the ash traps at the bottom of the back wall where your ash dump "slides" are to really make some headway pull the burn pot out, remove the brick panel on the back wall, take off the 2 plates at the bottom (each has a 5/16 screw to remove , thne vac it out but before reinstalling the plate , take a mallet and tap around on the back wall where the brick panel was to loosen ash trapped in the baffles, vac out again, then reassemble, see if you get better heat at this point.

    what i dont know is what type of stat you have hooked up and if its "talking" to the control board, i have a test to determine that and can walk you through it over the phone. as for getting in touch with me, PM me a daytime phone number and an approximate time good for you, i can try to call during that window from my office to go over this with you.
  8. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I have not done a cleaning as you ( Mike) described, That may be part of the problem, or solve the whole thing... I will let you know.
    I have part # ac-3003 (thermosat) , they are talking , i hear the beeps emmited from unit( black box hooked to stove) in response to change on remote. remote responds to heat change. will shut down down accordingly. Fresh batteries last week
  9. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,960
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va

    ok good to know what stat you have the 3003 is compatible so that's not a problem.

    here's a way to test that they are working together need the stove shut down to do it.

    1. unplug the stove and plug back in.
    2. QUICKLY press and release the "low fuel feed" AND the "air on temp" buttons (use 2 fingers press both together and release).

    you should see a dash in the heat range and also if the stat is "calling for heat" a dash in the blower speed, if the stat is not calling for heat the dash in the blower speed should not be present.

    to test raise the temp on the stat well above the temp in the room and watch for that dash in blower speed, it should appear within 2 minutes. then lower temp on stat back below the room temp and look for the dash in the blower speed to go away. if this is happening they are talking to each other.

    note also the stove has 2 methods or modes to operate on a stat with , one is "high low" the other is "on off" to see what its set for do the following;

    unplu/replug, quickly press BOTH down arrows (2 fingers again) this will revert the mode. if you see "0-0" its now set for on off, if you see "H-L" its set for high/low
  10. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,960
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    first thing though, do the plates off cleaning, ash is an insulator, it traps heat in the exhaust pathway and allows it to eject out the flue, cleaning it out exposes bare steel which will allow more heat to conduct into the convection chambers giving you more heat in the room and less wasted outside
  11. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11

    I have cleaned stove as prescribed . ;o)
    Checked to see if calling for heat, it is.
    And checked operating mode, it says H-L. Is that the setting it should be on?
    Just turned stove on...running, will see how heat output is. Supposed to be 17 tonight in Rhode Island, brrrr
    Stove set 9 and 9 see if warms house. Its at 63, so it'll be a bit...fire looks different, smaller?
  12. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Do you want the stove in Hi-Lo, or On-Off? Typically most people run in On-Off during the fall & spring when heat demand isn't as high, then switch to Hi-Lo for the colder weather.

    My 10-cpm is still in On-Off, but I'll be changing to Hi-Lo here shortly, as some pretty cold weather is predicted.

    In Hi-Lo, the stove will idle down to a "barely burning" condition (like being on 1-1....convection blower will probably turn off too) when the stat isn't calling for heat, then ramp up to whatever setting you have the control panel at when heat is called for.
  13. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Well its been 5 hours...its 21 degrees out. My house has got to 65, two degrees in five hours. Last year it did get this cold with cheap pellets to boot. 65 is do-able, but i know stove can produce more, seen it do it before. Any more suggestions...?
  14. slvrblkk

    slvrblkk Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,185
    Loc:
    Northampton, PA
    Out of curiosity, what are your bottom 3 buttons set to?
  15. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Press each of the bottom buttons, one at a time, from left to right. Tell us what numbers show up in the display. Should be something like 1-4-1
  16. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I am at 1-4-1
  17. slvrblkk

    slvrblkk Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,185
    Loc:
    Northampton, PA
    In my opinion....I would definitely crank up the LFF (first number) to at least 2 or 3 if you are burning Green Supremes......probably imacman can add to this since he has the same stove.....

    You might not be squeezing out enough heat out of those pellets if you are running on 9-9.....the heat exchanger/firebox isn't being heated up enough and the air blowing over it just cools it down even more
  18. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Pardon my ignorance, but could you tell me how to do that? Maybe?
  19. slvrblkk

    slvrblkk Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,185
    Loc:
    Northampton, PA
    press the LFF button the current display will show......then press both the heat range up button and blower speed up button at the same time and the number should increase.......

    then give it a good few minutes...you should noticeably see the flame increase and hear more pellets feed...at that time you might need to back down your heat setting.......
  20. Heather1974

    Heather1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    th
    Thank you i will try setting it at 2-4-1, see what that does. and turn stove down to 7 as see how that does....
  21. slvrblkk

    slvrblkk Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,185
    Loc:
    Northampton, PA
    If it were me I would go to 3 with those pellets...but you could try 2 first....let us know how you make out....

    You will just need to get a feel for the settings...it's trial and error sometimes
  22. imacman

    imacman Guest

    IMO, since you're burning the GS I'd set the bottom buttons at 3-5-1. That should get some decent heat out.
  23. imacman

    imacman Guest

    And if the pot starts to get a little full with embers after a while, raise the second button to 6 (3-6-1). Let us know if this helps any.
  24. slvrblkk

    slvrblkk Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,185
    Loc:
    Northampton, PA
    I'm currently burning Green Teams at 4-4-1.....and getting really good heat out of the stove.....

    Those NEWP/GS pellets are crap...IMO
  25. imacman

    imacman Guest

    slvrblkk, if you have the LFF at 4, I'd raise the LBA to 5.....that's a LOT of pellets to dump in the burn pot, and you need air to get them burned. Remember, you started at 1-4-1, and only increased the fuel.......she needs a little more air, IMO.

Share This Page