New guy and a question.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bigcube

Feb 27, 2008
Upstate NY
Hello! Newbie here. Hope to pick up some info on wood stoves. After dropping some coin to sleeve a chimney I had a big problem with a smoke filled house. As far as I can tell the sleeve put in is too small to support the stove. They used a 6" sleeve and I had an 8" coming out of the stove. I'm told my stove NEEDS an 8" chimney.

Couple of questions:

1, is my 30 year old Vermont Casting wood Vigilant worth keeping?
2, Do most newer stoves use a 6" pipe or an 8" pipe?

Reason for the questions is I just had a liner put in and now I'm told it's too small to support my stove, especially with a short chimney. If most new stoves are 6" would I be better off replacing the stove with a new one? Or make the "chimney expert" who put in too small of pipe to support my stove fix it with the correct size pipe? It has a full brick wall with a 6"x9" flue tiles in a brick chimney and a round opening 8" where the pipe went into the chimney. Is the round 8" hole big enough to fit the correct liner in? There seemed to be plenty of room around the 6" oval pipe that was installed down the middle of the chimney

In a 6x9 flue it would seem to me you couln't put in a liner any larger than a 6" diam. 6" is very common on today's stoves.