New guy, has questions(surprise surprise)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SPED

Dec 31, 2007
First of all awesome forum!! Although I blame you guys for keeping me up late reading all the old posts...ok not all, but a lot. So I've been burning wood for about 4 years now, i'm not exclusive with it, i have natural gas hot water baseboard as a backup. I keep that set at 60(got two little ones in the house) and I generally try and keep a fire going most days. I burn about 3 cords a year right now.

So for the questions.....

My stove is a freestanding cast iron sucker, 1/4" plate, with two bifold doors on the front. Not even close to sealed :) So the question is how much am I looking at to upgrade and what will my savings be if i do? I have all the obvious problems with it, can't really accurately control the fire with the little slider vents on the bottom of the doors, has some leaks, etc. I spend about 500 a year on firewood, i've been trying to scrounge free wood, but so far not much luck, other than the 1/2 cord of maple from a tree i took down myself.

For firewood, besides the obvious scrounging, how much do people save who do log length and cut split themselves? I get green hardwood for 170 a cord here right now, and let it sit for a year. I'm wondering what the average % off is for log length.

I'm sure I'll come up with some more FNG questions....but that's all for now.

Thanks Guys,
Ed