New Guy with some boiler questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

randylamarr

Dec 11, 2014
Ohio
Hello from Wapakoneta Ohio

Im currently looking at a foreclosed home that is 5300 sq ft and Im interested in putting in a gasification boiler system. need suggestions on a system that i can add on to the central heat and air that is already in the house. The house has two natural gas furnaces in it now so I will need to run water lines to 2 heat exchangers so i can feed both sets of duct work. Any help would be great. Im just a retired Air Force vet looking for help!

Thank you for your service. 10 yrs Navy here, dad did 5 Army, one bro soon to retire from Army and little bro is PA Nat'l Guard reserve.

You found the right place to find help, lots of really good folks on here.

Start with a heat loss calculation, there are plenty of online calculators out there. If you can get any info from the previous owners or utility company about fuel usage, that will help to solidify the heat loss calculations.

With that sqft, you should have plenty of room for a nice boiler room and plenty of thermal storage. Storage allows the boiler to run flat out and dump its BTU's to the tanks, which the house can draw from as needed.

Are you planning on an inside install or putting it in an outdoor building / shed? Both are viable options, some like to keep the mess outside, some like the storage tanks inside the heated envelope.