NEW here &&& Need help making a decision..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CMRINDA

Oct 7, 2010
Northwest MA
Hello,

I am a pellet NEWBIE so need PLENTY of help.. We have looked at several pellet stoves and having difficulty making an educated decision.. We looked at the Napoleon NPS40 and Summer Heat from Lowes.. We need to heat a 500 sq ft family room with 9 windows 2 exterior doors with insulation.. I can't find a website that tells me what btu to buy.. I would hate to buy a unit that is too small and not putting out enough heat.. So my question is what are your thoughts on the Napolean and Summer heat pellet stoves.. Or better yet if you had $2k to spend which unit would you buy besides those two? Are there Any honest online website to purchase from also?

Many thanks

The NPS40 is a great little stove, more BTU capability than the Englander and a bit more quiet. If you are seeking a freestanding unit, the Napoleon has an ash drawer, whereas the Englander may not...depends on the model.

The Englander will allow for thermostat operation. Napoleon NPS40 will not....but their NPS45 will.

I think the Napoleon is abit more $ than the Englander.

Either one will be more than enough...may be too much for the room alone, these units will do a fair job at heating the entire downstairs.

For under 2k, check out the multi-fuel USSC at TSC ($1699.00) or the Englander Multi-fuel. Very good stoves and can chow through crappy pellets better than the Napoleon's

couldn't be said better that what Scott mentioned.