New house needs a Jotul - I think

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jotul8e2

Minister of Fire
Feb 2, 2008
Ozarks
We are in the ongoing process of completing a new house. We live in the middle of 50 acres of oak and hickory, so supplies are not a problem. I have been burning stoves for about 30 years (my beloved old Efel, the Hearthstone we used for decades, and lately a Duchwest Large cat that is heating my shop), so I know some of the ins and outs. I do not profess to be an expert, however, particularly with the new secondary burn stoves.

The house is a full basement, 1900 sq. ft of more or less open floorplan on the main level, and another 600 sq. ft. upstairs. The flue is installed and is just about dead center in the main level. I designed the house to be eneregy efficient, so it has fewer windows that are the norm today, six inch fiberlass-filled walls, with another one inch of foam on the outside, and about r-60 in the attic. Our climate is lower mid-west - not far north of Springfield, Missouri. The design seems to be working - my Jan. electric bill (we are all electric) was only $130, even after the coldest Jan. in many years.

Ok, I know the payback on a stove is terrible for me. I might save $70 or $80 a month, six months a year. But that's not the point, is it? I like wood burning stoves. I want to be warm even when the power goes down. I like splitting wood with an ax. You all will understand, I am sure.