New install in old chimney, complicated with many options

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bkoltai9

Nov 23, 2014
Oxford, MS
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting and thanks to all of you for reading and (hopefully) offering good advice.

After last winter's cold even here in Mississippi, I swore that I was buying a wood stove because our heat pump was mostly useless and expensive last winter.

I bought an Ashley wood circulator (BEC95 I think is the model #), which is not the best recommended after recent EPA redesign, but its what was available locally.

So, my issue is that I don't have a clear idea how best to install the stove pipe or chimney liner. What I have to work with is as follows:

This house was built around 1920 and had a chimney in the wall between the living room and bedroom with dual fireplaces. 6 or 7 years ago (before I purchased it) the falling apart house was mostly rebuilt, including a new metal roof. The previous owner had no interest in using the fireplaces and had the chimney cut off below the roof in the attic crawl space.

Earlier this year I began consideration of how to heat with wood and I looked at the chimney top in the attic, which looked like two flues, each about 4x16 with a line of brick between them. Since I only need one wood heater, I went ahead and busted out the entire center column, right down to the floor. Now I have about 6 feet of 12x16 which then opens up to a wide chamber below that you can enter from both sides. My plan is to put the wood heater in the living room and keep an access door from the bedroom.