New Member-Basic Questions about clearance to sheet rock walls

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Please excuse my ignorance, I'm very new to wood burning stoves.

I purchased a used Kent Tile Fire stove, and have some questions about clearance from the walls. The chimney goes up through the ceiling, and is in the corner of the room. The walls are painted sheet rock.

The Stove says that it needs a minimum of 21" clearance from the stove pipe, to combustable material. I have it installed now with 24" clearance, but the walls still get so hot directly across from the pipe, that they are hot to the touch. I'm assuming that they should not be getting that hot. They get hot about 3 feet off the floor. Below that the ceramic tiles installed at the sides of this stove seem to protect the walls lower down from getting hot. Should the pipe I have going from the stove to the chimney be double walled pipe? I just have single installed now.

Also, the top, what they call "decorative" cover is missing from this stove. Could this be the reason the walls are getting so hot, the heat is not being shielded properly?

If I will need to tile the walls behind the stove, is there a certain heat resistant adhesive I should be using? Are there other more simpler options to protect the walls from the heat beside tile?

Any help would really be appreciated, since I am very new at all this.

Pete

Pics?