New member questions warnock hershey

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmak135

Jan 30, 2011
New jersey
Warnock Hershey 1996 insert I just bought it today it is used and was 450 I think it was a good deal seems to work ok have not installed it in my fire place yet the opening is larger then the insert is there anyone here that knows about these things like I said I'm a novice so any suggestions will help thank you on installation and operation I also brought a pallet of pellets from lows for 180 which seemed like a good deal

You'll have to fabricate an additional surround.

Installation should be done according to the instructions in the manual.

If I build up the brick bricks to close the chamber of the old fireplace some would that be ok and also venting out the fireplace chimney what kind of pipe should I use

Jmak135 said:
If I build up the brick bricks to close the chamber of the old fireplace some would that be ok and also venting out the fireplace chimney what kind of pipe should I use

The manual should address this and you need to read the entire manual before installing or using the stove.

You use double walled vent pipe certified for use with wood pellet stoves. There are a number of makers, and in your case you are likely going to be using a flexible liner.

The size of the vent piping is determined by various information in the manual and can vary from stove to stove.

ETA: Yes building out the existing brick work using more bricks is fine.