New Member: Some Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lessoil

Minister of Fire
May 31, 2008
Western Maine
We will be buying a Pellet stove this Summer!!
I am new to this and have done a lot of reading.

We have a 24' X 32' Cape (2300 sq ft counting basement) and are planning on putting the stove in the basement.
We burn around 900 gal per year during a "Cold" Winter.
Last year we burned just under 700 gal. We have a 40 gal boiler mate for hot water.

I have looked at so many stoves that I am dizzy!
The Harman 38 looks like it might work well.
I am prepared to install fans; grates etc to get the heat to the 2nd floor.

Any input would be great!

Thanks

lessoil said:
We will be buying a Pellet stove this Summer!!
I am new to this and have done a lot of reading.

We have a 24' X 32' Cape (2300 sq ft counting basement) and are planning on putting the stove in the basement.
We burn around 900 gal per year during a "Cold" Winter.
Last year we burned just under 700 gal. We have a 40 gal boiler mate for hot water.

I have looked at so many stoves that I am dizzy!
The Harman 38 looks like it might work well.
I am prepared to install fans; grates etc to get the heat to the 2nd floor.

Any input would be great!

Thanks
I have the same situation with my P-38 stove just installed in the finished basement and ready for next year with 4.5 tons of pellets. I have 2400 sq ft with open stairs and 2 floor vents and I`m hoping to significantly reduce the 750-800 total gals I used last heating season.