New member with balky Resolute

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cdaryl

Jan 1, 2012
Central CT.
Hi everyone new guy here, well I'm new to stoves but have buddies that burn wood for heat every year. I just purchased a Vc Resolute pre EPA stove looks good etc... I am a Hvac tech and plan to install a liner as I get them at good prices but for now I popped the smoke pipe into my fireplace, to just see how it burns. As I have been lurking here for awhile I realize it is not ideal the way I am vented but I wanted to try the stove. I was burning it yesterday and couldnt get the horizontal burn to work so I am going to try to use my soot vac to clear out the chamber behind the firebacks. I got the griddle to 600 * smoke pipe to 350* and about two inches of coals and tried the horizontal burn but it snuffs the fire out, I have a combustion analyzer that does wood so I wanna try that at some point . Well hello everyone hope to learn lots from you folks.

Greetings. This could just be weak draft due to the short pipe + horiz. run to get it into the chimney. If so, a proper 6" stainless liner will make a big difference and improvement.

Before lining the chimney be sure to have it completely cleaned and inspected for any cracks in the clay tiles. If there are cracks or mortar missing between tiles, then insulate the liner.

May want to move that thermometer onto the cast. Griddle temps will rise much faster than the cast.