New owner help with wood for this season.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
EddieB said:
wood-fan-atic said:
Eddie, where on the island do you live?

I live in Ronkonkoma/Nesconset border.

Any help would be appreciated

Eddie

Eddie,
I live in northport, not to far.

I'm new at burning, but new to wood and the likes.

I wouldn't mind going with you. I have a moisture meter.

This my first year burning and I bought 2 cords from a guy that I really felt like he was honest and fair.
That was based only on several conversation over the phone and comparing it the the other guys I spoke to over the phone.
Most guys had no time to talk strickly business.
This guy took to time talk and build trust, needless to say I got wood that must have been cut and split that day.
It was wet to the touch!

Live and learn.

However most of it is locust and maple. they dry pretty quick.

Any way let me know if you want me go look with ya.

Tell ya the truth, all the places that I know you go look at are getting it from one of about 4 big processing yards.
And all they are doing is giving out this years stuff. Its bright in color, the bark is still on and its heavy for its size.

So go on Craigslist and hope for the best.

Bottom line its still wood and will burn. Maybe not so good but it will still burn. It make take some work but it will still burn.

Eddie, welcome to the forums !!

Try John/ Island Hardwoods in Manorville. (I'm PMing his #). Explain your situation (he's a wood burner, too), and I'm sure he will help if he can. He's the $100 a cord guy we've been talking about.