New pellet stove owner, has questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bxpellet

Feeling the Heat
Nov 1, 2007
Bronx, NY
Ok, I am new at this, purchased Harman advance in late august, paid $3,300 for stove and vent pipe up and out with thimble, tried to get him to go lower, wouldn't budge on number, gave me a free ton of pellets with purchase, I think it was a good deal. for my area, NYC, every company I call for install wanted $500.00 or more for installation, did it myself, followed all directions carefully, Vent-pipe clearance said 3" gave it 5" Thimble( NYC approved) said 1" gave it 2 1/2" . Followed building code and manufactures requirements, later found out Harmans not a approved NYC stove no MEA number,called store they called Harman they said they are working on it. Thelin is approved but I think they look like fire hydrants. That's enough history I will post pictures when I get a chance. My question is should I hook up out side air. house is Brand new, Stove is in open area on first floor, where is the best place to put thermostat's wire, why does one side of glass get dirty. As I think of them I will ask more questions, Love the web site found it very useful, Are there any other NYC pellet stove owners out there or am I the only one?

I assume since the house is new it is tightly constructing begin in NYC? If so, you will probably get better performance with outside air, and wont run into negative pressure issues in the house.