New saw and splitter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fiziksgeek

Burning Hunk
Jan 3, 2012
Oxford, CT
I was planning to upgrade my ~9 year old husquvarna 350 and was thinking of buying a log splitter vs. renting, but a recent event, the arrival of some large log length has made me move up my plans.

I am new to significant wood burning, but still only expecting to go through 2-3 cords per year. Never burnt more than a cord in any previous year. I bought some log length for the 2013-14 season hoping to get a head, and although the guy promised me there was nothing big in there, he dropped some logs up to 45" in my driveway last night!

Was originally planning to go with a 60cc saw, MS362 or Husky 562, but am now thinking maybe a 70 CC saw would be better MS441 or Husky 372. Anyone have a recommendation?

For a log splitter, again, I was originally thinking the 22 ton Iron and Oak, but if I occasionally need to split some big wood, should i go up in power? Again, most of the wood I will be working with will be 24" or less, but this log length delivery was a surprise, and I'll likely be helping out my parents, they have a couple big oaks that need to come down, 36-40" as well. Want something that tows fairly well.

No particular budget in mind. Would really like to stay under 4K for both, 3K preferable.