New Saw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rreihart

Aug 2, 2007
Central PA
I know this has probably been posted to death, but I'll ask for opinions anyway. I'm looking to purchase a saw and after reading many posts I'm leaning toward the Dolmar 5100. I've also considered a few Husvarnas, 346xp and 359, but to purchase locally, they are about $70 more. I'm sure I could do better for price on-line, but I'm not an old pro, so I think I'll need decent dealer support. I my main purpose will be for cutting firewood and this will be the first year I've burned wood for quite a while.

Does my leaning toward the 5100 make sense? Would you expect the 346xp to be closer in price? The Dolmar dealer said there would be a price increase soon. Is there a recent upgrade in the 5100 model, is it a seasonal thing, or is it just a sales pitch?

Any input or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob

I can't answer your questions about pricing, but I have a 5100S and it's a superb saw, king of it's class, in my opinion. Unless you're either very young or doing commercial cutting, it will quite possibly outlast you. :)

What's your price range for the saw?

Chainsaws aren't all that complicated and often for the price buying online makes more sense. I guess a lot does have to do with the relationship you have with your dealer.

Sometimes it's even advisable to check craigslist. I picked up a sweetheart deal on a saw from there and I know several other people who have as well.

I bought my last saw (Husky 372XPW) from

http://www.npeco.com/