1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

New stove flue smoking

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Whitepinechampion, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. Whitepinechampion

    Whitepinechampion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    It is late and I am typing on my phone so please excuse grammar mistakes upfront.
    I have a new osburn 2300 and it was bUrning great for a week until yesterday. Now fires are not continuing unless door is open. Not getting secondary burns. Lots of smoke out door while starting. Smoke is now coming out joints of the single wall black flue. Flue is about 7 ' to ceiling with two 45 bends at top into box in cathedral ceiling. I have about 7' of triple wall out of roof. New system I just put in a few weeks ago. Wood is same as when it was burning great. I had no difficulty starting or mantaining good burns last week. No smoke in house, but know I am smoking my family out. When I use air control it has no effect on fire. Please help.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. pen

    pen There are some who call me...mod. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7,094
    Loc:
    N.E. Penna
    Are you getting firewood from a different pile? Switched from burning splits to unsplit rounds? Any chance the wood you are choosing now is less seasoned than what you were using last week?

    Along with that, I'd suggest that you climb up on the roof and check out the chimney cap to see if it is restricted with creosote.

    If it is restricted with creosote, you'll need to look into the cause.

    Welcome to the site! Keep us posted and let us know if you have questions along the way.

    pen
    raybonz likes this.
  3. blades

    blades Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,566
    Loc:
    WI, Milw
    Sure sounds like a combination of flue blockage, less than optimum moisture content of fuel ( 20 % or less internal on a split). Oh and if the temps got kinda warm outside ( 40 and above ) that will give some difficulty in getting a good draft going. Check that flue cap If it is the wire mesh type they are prone to blockage.
  4. remkel

    remkel Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,459
    Loc:
    Southwest NH
    If I read this right you have 14' of pipe with two 45 bends? Seems to me kind of a short run. But, if it was working and now it is not, then I would investigate the wood and blockage.
  5. Whitepinechampion

    Whitepinechampion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
  6. Whitepinechampion

    Whitepinechampion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks everyone. I will check all those problems. It has been warmer than last week. My kids tell me they got the wood from a different pile, I should have known they would not listen to me and walk farther to get the dryer wood. I am also thinking I may need longer pipe. I don't want this problem when it is warmer out. Thanks I will let you know today.
  7. Swedishchef

    Swedishchef Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,393
    Loc:
    Quebec, Canada
    As everyone else pointed out, perhaps there is some sort of a blockage and perhaps the wood is not properly seasoned. It is harder to get a fire going when it is warm out, there is always less draft.

    14 feet sounds kinda short, perhaps adding 3 feet would be good?

    Andrew
  8. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,634
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    If you are in the Albuquerque area you are over 5,000 ft. elevation and with the valleys around there thin air and up and down draft currents are gonna give that short chimney a lot of grief.
  9. Heatsource

    Heatsource Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    722
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    I have customers who clog up their spark arrestors with in a few weeks
    check the cap
  10. Backwoods Savage

    Backwoods Savage Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27,816
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Welcome to the forum WhitePine.

    This sounds typical of a plugged chimney. I'd say get that thing cleaned before you light the next fire.

    I also agree with BrotherBart. You very well may have to add about 4' to that chimney; perhaps more.
  11. Whitepinechampion

    Whitepinechampion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    I went on the roof and the spark arrester cap was plugged with creosote. I just could not believe that would happen so fast. Now I realize the wood was not seasond well. Now how do I clean off all the creosote? Can I clean the chimney myself or do I need to call a professional? Do those creosote logs work?
    I am at 7500 feet and my total length of stack is 15 feet. I am going to add another 3 feet just to make sure. It has been warm this week highs 60 lows 35. thanks again for all the help. Any other advice is welcome.
  12. Backwoods Savage

    Backwoods Savage Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    27,816
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Wish we had your warmth. Well, we'll have it Monday but then back to reality.

    A wire brush does wonders. You can clean yourself but you might feel comfortable having a sweep do it the first time. With the 45 degree bends, perhaps a soot eater would by your best bet.

    I've heard the creosote logs do work somewhat. Hopefully that 3' will make the difference.

Share This Page