New Tarm Solo 30 (New Pics link)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

twitch

Jul 10, 2008
Vassalboro Maine
www.colby.edu
First, I appreciate this forum and all the knowledgeable members here willing to help out newbies like me. I will be ordering my Tarm tomorrow. The dealer I'm going through sells the boiler alone, or with near boiler piping. It's about $1800 for the piping. Does this sound reasonable? I'm sure I could do it myself, but I have zero boiler experience. I'm thinking that it would save me a lot of time by buying it with the piping and do the rest of the install myself, which I think would be fairly simple.

Another question, and forgive my ignorance, but do you have to have a cold water supply to the system, or is it like the OWB's where it is sealed?

If you twin into your oil boiler, you won't need another water feed.

I should have mentioned that I will be using a HX in an existing oil fired hot air furnace. By your reply, I guess I will need to have a water feed. Thanks for the reply.

It's been kind of slow going, but I'm making progress on my install. The boiler room in the garage is almost complete, and I have the electrical an piping just about done in there. Still have to get the plenums for the air handler, pipe it and run pex to it. Below is a link to some pics if you are interested.

http://www.colby.edu/personal/s/sktwitch/Tarm_Solo_30_Install/index.html

Great pics! Looks like you'll be burning wood soon!

flyingcow said: