New to burning...how hot is too hot?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hatesgas

Jul 14, 2009
MA
I've been getting a lot of "advice" from friends (and my wife) on how hot to burn the stove. For context, I have a Russo Coal Wood Combo #1. I have it set up on my masonry fireplace and vented up through the chimney. I like to burn it at 500-550. Some say that is too high. What say you? Thanks!

I'm a rookie too. This is my first year burning full time and have tried about everything possible in the last few months. I'm running an older Fisher stove and find that it heats my home best at top plate temps around 500-550. However I am unfamiliar with your brand of stove but any good fire is going to produce those temps easily.

550 is too close to the ignition point of creosote for me.... I prefer to run my 'ol smoke dragon between 350 and 450... with my stove @ 450F, burning black locust... I am just about blasting myself out of my 1865 farmhouse... with mostly no insulation.

My stack is at 400.... it's 15F out... a load of BL in the stove... and I am in shorts and bordering on uncomfortably warm...

Where are you measuring this temp, on the flue pipe or on the stove top? 550F is not too high if on the stove top. There's a difference between too hot for comfort and too hot for safety.