new to epa stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jaywiz

Nov 17, 2016
Ohio
ok guys I have done a ton of reading but still have a few questions I cant seem to find the answer to.
First a little info. I am new to the epa stoves but not new to wood heat.I bought and installed a osburn 2400 insert and insulated 6in liner into the masonary fireplace of my 1842 brick 3 story farm house.the chimney is exterior(but as I said its insulated1/2in and lined) and 30ft tall from the top of the insert to the cap.Draft is fine and strong.
I have no problem getting it lit, and can get it to 600 in about an hr from dead cold then get it to cruise for 6-8 hrs at 600 with the air totally closed.
My questions are how long till the new stove stink goes away(not smoke,but the new hot metal smell)?How long should I leave the door cracked to build heat,and how fast should it get to temp from dead cold(I work all day and am timid about letting it burn while no one is home).
the last question is about the secondaries,are they supposed to actually have flames coming from them or just air streams blowing flames across the top of the firebox?the flames dance lazy and I have no smoke from the top of the chimney but they don't seem to be doing anything but maybe fanning the flame. The box(firebrick) and glass are crystal clear(clean) and it burns completely to fine ash. Im just not sure im burning it completely right and the manual is no help at all!