New to forum, Have a grandpa bear and love it, Have a few questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wcso873

Dec 17, 2011
southern ohio
Hello, I live in Southern Ohio and bought a house 3 years ago that has a Fisher Grandpa bear stove in the basement. Just started using it this year to heat my whole house. It burns alot of wood but it sure keeps the house warm. So far so good. I know nothing about wood stoves as this is my first time using it but im figuring it out as i go along. I do have a few questions about what i believe is the flue. Its like a butterfly valve that is in the large tube that comes out of the top of the stove. Should that always be left wide open when im burning? Also my stove has a electric fan that is made into the rear of the stove. Ive not read anything about that on the forums. Is it a add on? Any help would be appreciated! Also this is a great forum!!

Welcome to the Forum,
That is a manual damper in the flue pipe. If your stove is older with no baffle inside, (you can see right out the pipe from inside) you should be using it to slow the rising gasses down all the time. Once up to temp, you can usually run it closed fully. (across the pipe is closed, with the pipe is open) If you have a screen, with open door burning you slowly close the damper until smoke starts to come in. Open it just until it stops and this is the setting that you will save some heat from rushing up, yet enough draft to prevent smoke from coming in. There are manuals in Hearth Wiki under Fisher Stoves.