New to Forum--Many questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pathoppe

Sep 24, 2007
I am new to this great resource, but I have a lot of questions. I will try to keep it brief. Any input to my questions is much appreciated.

1) Looking at buying a stove for our A-frame home. We are at 9300' feet above sea level. The a-frame is a drafty 2,500 sf with a lot of windows. Our boiler does a fair job of heating this big hovel, but it sure would be nice to get the temp above 65 in the winter which lasts from September until May. Looking at a Jotul 500 Oslo, 600 Firelight CB or an Avalon Arbor. I would be burning seasoned lodgepole pine which is very plentiful thanks to the pine beetle. Any input on these models? Any other suggestions?

2) I have remodeled this house top to bottom, so feel comfortable with hammer and saw in hand, but I have never installed a chimney. Should I tackle this job too, or should I have a professional do the job? I have read several books on correct heights and configurations for our elevation, but I am a bit intimidated. I would, however, like to save the money if I could. I have heard the stove is only as good as the chimney, so I want it right. Any suggestions?

Again, thanks for any/all input.

A Morso 3610 is in the same class as the above stoves.

I would concentrate on fixing your draft issues if you can. Lots of windows doesnt help either, unless they face South
Are you building a brick chimney or going with class A pipe?

Welcome,