1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

New to me PF100, install pictures help?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by a5t1, Aug 13, 2013.

  1. a5t1

    a5t1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    UP
    Had a harman P38 and loved it. We moved and now purchased a new to us PF100. The ducting is new to me so I'm looking for guidance / examples of how others tied it in to existing duct work.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,906
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    no idea what you are working with. Do you have existing ducting or are you starting from scratch? basement picture would be great...unless you are installing it your living room....that would be so trailer park!
  3. a5t1

    a5t1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    UP
    Sure, these should clarify. For the record, we just purchased this place. The previous owner was...unique? Regardless, duct tape and other oddities you see are a result of his handiwork. I'll be rectifying all of that as I go along. Without further adieu...

    This is where the PF100 is sitting now, I'm thinking of venting above the sill

    [​IMG]

    Another shot of where the PF100 is relative to the furnace
    [​IMG]


    Old oil furnace, PF100 is on the other side of it:
    [​IMG]


    Side of oil furnace with PF100..
    [​IMG]
  4. Rubicon 327

    Rubicon 327 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Loc:
    Cromwell, Connecticut
    Nice Furnace!!

    A good start would be to download and print the install manual from Harman. http://www.harmanstoves.com/Products/PF100-Pellet-Furnace.aspx If you got to that link, below the picture you will see "downloads" click on that and then click on "install manual" That will give you a fair amount of information that you may need quickly in the future and also help with the install.

    Although there are also many helpful people here that will set you in the right direction as well.
  5. a5t1

    a5t1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    UP
    Thanks, I have the manual, just looking for guidance on the duct work. Do I need a custom box to fit on top of the PF100?
  6. Rubicon 327

    Rubicon 327 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Loc:
    Cromwell, Connecticut
    Kinda looks that way as I don't see in the manual any supplied reducer or any fitting that goes from what ever size that supply take off is to say a 10" round or what ever. Take a measure of that supply on top there and call around to any sheet metal supply houses and you might find that is a standing duct size. Other wise a pretty easy job for a tin knocker to make up.
    smoke show likes this.
  7. a5t1

    a5t1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    UP
    I measured 14"x18" on the top...looks like a custom box is in order.
  8. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,095
    Loc:
    NH
    you may find a plenum of 14"x18 as a common item at a place like F.W.Webb. you'll have to do some custom tin knocking to tie it all together but the plenum isn't that odd a size.
  9. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,906
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Going to need a back flow damper to keep the main system from blowing back in to the Harman installed somewhere in the stream, maybe on top?
  10. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    yep, probs put it right above the custom plenum he's gonna have to make.....Im guessing that PF is going to be pretty near the old furnace.....

    How are you exhausting that bad boy?

    On second inspection, youre gonna have to scoot that PF forward, you are gonna have a really hard time tinning it over to the output duct as it sits....besides, you've got no room for the fan and fan box for the PF.....you DO have the fan and box, right?
  11. a5t1

    a5t1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    UP
    Yes, have the fan and box, there is enough room for them, it's hard to see in the pic. The exhaust if going to run between the floor joists and out the top of the basement wall...
  12. Teto

    Teto Guest

    Do you have pictures for it after it's installed? Where you able to find the 14x18? where? Thanks
  13. a5t1

    a5t1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    UP
    I'll try and take a few pictures of the final install. In short it all had to be made custom (the supply). I purchased all of the 4" exhaust pipe online as no one in my area stocked it.
  14. railfanron

    railfanron Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Loc:
    Perry MI
    Too bad you're in the UP. I could make anything you require.
    Ron
  15. Arti

    Arti Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    South West Wisconsin
    Hard to tell from the pictures, It might be wise to look the existing chimney and furnace over closer, I see soot on the top of the warm air pipes and where it connects to the chimney indicating an issue somewhere in the existing oil setup, Sometimes this is simply a needed tune up and sometimes a crack in the heat exchanger.

    If the old furnace is past it useful life why not just remove it and put the pellet burner in it's place. This might be a better choice if the pellet burner is the main source of heat.
    It is a lot more efficient to blow the air straight up into the existing duct work than to go around corners and thru dampers.

    I don't see any central air however one could be attached above either furnace in the future if the need arises.
  16. exoilburner

    exoilburner Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Loc:
    NW Washington State
    Here is a dwg of the sheet metal connection from my PF100 to the hot air duct. It would need to be modified to fit your install. A couple other guys on here have used this for a starting point. A sheet metal shop would be able to build it.
    Be sure to install isolation dampers in your ducts.
    [​IMG]

Share This Page