New to pellet stoves and need help with a New england 25 PVDC

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello I am new to pellet stoves bought 2 of the New England's 25 pvdc used which I know was probably my first mistake to get them used actually my husbands as he is the one who insisted on used. The one is in his business and it is running great so far the one I have in my house it is very high maintenance and not working right still. It was manufactured 10/08 bought early 2009 by the previous owner and I purchased it this summer was told the only thing they ever had to do was tighten the set screw once. Well if I would have found this forum before buying my husband would not have gotten this one it looks like it was never cleaned other than the ashes so I made an appointment with a pellet tech guy to do an annual cleaning and maintenance on it which he will be here on 10/21. In the meantime it was working fine until this past weekend Saturday turned it on and bottom auger was not turning. Husband took apart pulledd top motor and auger was turning fine pulled bottom motor and auger could not be turned by hand so he removed it I vacuumed out the pellets in there and cleaned the feed tube up some with a wire brush and got a lot of the creosote out of there vacuumed again cleaned up the impingement plate wear plate and the burn pot sucked out all ashes. My husband cleaned off some of the black on the auger replaced them and swapped the motors around plugged in turned it on and it ran great. Sunday turn it on and auger is turning it is spitting out pellets gets through start up I