New to Pellet Stoves - Have questions on Englander and more?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PA GREG

Dec 20, 2010
Pittsburgh, PA
Hello,

I am new to Pellet stoves and am seriously considering one to put into my garage. I have been lurking here quietly for some time and reading as much as I can.

My first thought was to purchase one of the Englanders from HD. However, it seems like all the posts on them here on this board are negative dealing with a problem. Is this true or just my imagination? Does anybody have one of these stoves that they really like and has been problem free?

If not the Englander, how bout some more ideas? We have a local store that sells primarily Harman and Breckwell. This is going to be a garage install so looks are not important. I'd like to keep my stove investment to around $1800.

Thanks

Most threads get started because someone has a problem with their stove.

If you were to look closely, most problems are due to improper cleaning aka the dirty stove syndrome, a good number of the rest are from improper installation, in particular not paying attention to the venting requirements of the stove.

So if you want to point the finger at what are "problem stoves" you must first ignore the problems that are owner caused. That figure is huge and then look at the percentage of problems that were not user caused in relation to the installed user base for the stove.