New to the game

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jrdoyle

May 27, 2008
NE Maine
I'm new to the "Forum" game and wood boiler technology in general, so bear with me!

For obvious reasons I am planning to convert existing Oil-fired HWBB system to a wood boiler. I have plenty of free hardwood (sweat & blood not counting) and currently use a Tulikivi soapstone fireplace to help defray heat costs. The house is a 2500+ square foot colonial, 12 years old, fairly well insulated.

The primary issue for me is reliability and ease of operation. I ship out in the Merchant Marine and am gone 2-3 months at a time, so the responsibility will fall on my wife and 2 young children to operate the unit. They are out of the house by 8:00 AM and home by 4:00. She is perfectly willing and capable of loading a boiler but would usually not have the time for an extended "burn".

Some questions:
1. Any smoke issues with having a boiler in the basement?
2. Could a boiler utilize the same flue as the current oil unit? (other flue taken by the Tulikivi). For dependability reasons I would
like the oil back-up but would hate to get rid of a perfectly good oil unit and spend extra $$ for a combination unit.
3. At first blush, conventional gasification units (Tarm, EKO) seem like the way to go. However, Seton, Greenfire, Greenwood
offer claims of technology that allows the burn to start / stop as necessary, eliminating thermal storage. Thoughts?
4. How often, really, is loading required? Is it really loading and leaving, or performing a 3-4 hour burn?