1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

New to the Pellet Stove World

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Jarrod Reynolds, Mar 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    You want to use the Cast iron pot with holes at mainly the bottom.

    You don't need tape for that Pot. You may still need to close a row of holes on that pot too. But you will want to use 2,000° furnace cement (sold in tubes at almost all hardware stores).

    Also, take some aluminum foil and cover the qir wash on the sides (leave about 50% in the middle open, cover 25% of each side).

    Do a search up top for numerous threads that talk on the Baby and its airflow issues.

    Here is a pic of the pellet pot and also note the furnace cement in the 2 rows of holes. Do this to the front and back 2 top rows.

    2012-03-16_17-02-28_425.jpg

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    As for the pin setting. That is in the manual and that is available Free online (PDF).
  3. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,225
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Holes all over is the corn pot as for the other part of your question have you checked the manuals.
  4. Jarrod Reynolds

    Jarrod Reynolds New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    so this is the corn pot. pellet pot.jpg
  5. Jarrod Reynolds

    Jarrod Reynolds New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    So my wood pellet burn pot has a flat bottom with a bunch of holes in it. Is this normal. Because the corn burn pot is U shaped on the bottom.
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,225
    Loc:
    Standish, ME

    Looks like a corn pot to me.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,225
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Well I'm not up on what is what with your stoves burn pot but my stove can only burn pellets and the burn pot is flat bottomed and has slots not holes.

    There are all kinds of slight variations on burn pots, pellet pots have their air holes down low corn has them almost all the way to the top.
  8. Jarrod Reynolds

    Jarrod Reynolds New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Well the problem I am having now is that with my burn pot I am burning up the pellets to fast.
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,225
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Is the fire going out? If so does that stove have a damper on it you can close down a bit?
  10. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    There Shouldn't be a deep pile of pellets like like you had in the past.

    There should be a good brisk flame. As Smokey said, maybe close the damper some.

    What setting are you running on? Where is your damper set?

    Can you post a video of the flame?

    You dont want a pot full of pellets. You want the pellets to always be burning to ash, with embers and asg always flying out, and new pellets igniting and burning.

    I think your to used to seeing its "Bad Burn Characteristics" and you think you need a Pot of coals? Your stove isnt a wood stove and it doesn't need a pot of coals. Your stove gets heat from the flame and you need a good brisk Hot flame to get an efficient burn, good heat, and keep the pot clean, so you don't need to empty it daily.

    The pellet pot, is the pot I posted above. The pot you posted is the corn pot and if the front and back 2 top rows are closed off, will Modify it to a good pellet pot.
  11. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    I can tell by that pic, that your pellet pile was WAY to DEEP!!! The pellets shouldn't be coming up over that 3rd row (from bottom), yours is up to the 5th row and higher. Thats a clear indicator that you dont have enough air.

    On level 3, you should only be covering the bottom 2-3 rows of holes. Any higher and your building up and likely to have to empty pot?

    You need sufficient air to get a hot flame. My buddies stove burns twice as Hot with good air.

    Does your flame look like the flame in the video I posted?
  12. ScottMichelle

    ScottMichelle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Loc:
    Grayling, Michigan
    Dexter,

    Our pellet stove looks just like this video upon start up but after about the 12 hours we have pellets that start to load up in the pot and don't burn right. We have the correct pot, we have done the air wash thing, we have the damper wide open -with closing it at all the air flow isn't very good. My husband also doesn't feel we are getting the btu's out of it we should be. The stove is in our basement (800 sq ft) and we are not able to get it to heat past 75 degrees. We can not figure out why it isn't putting out more heat. We figured it would definitely heat us out of the area at temps of like 90+ degrees, especially since we are running it on level 5 all the time. Any thoughts?
  13. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,379
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Best to start a new thread - this one is quite old.....
    ScottMichelle likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page