New To VC Vigilant And Need Advice.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Battenkiller

Minister of Fire
Nov 26, 2009
Just Outside the Blue Line
Hi, there. First time poster here. Glad to find such an informative site. Looks like plenty to learn here.

I've been heating exclusively with wood for about 25 years. Started out with a huge, leaky wood burning furnace with an enormous air plenum and a gravity flow air return. The place was an old farmhouse that was leakier than the furnace. I burned about 8-10 full cord of hardwood a season, feast or famine as far as heat goes. Once big Mo' got cranking, the hot air would come pouring out of the ductwork and blow my hair back (still had hair back then). Doors and windows went flying open about that time, just to escape the heat. Then it would burn down and we'd get a lull in the heat output for about an hour and it would get downright chilly, then hot again, etc.

Moved out of there about 20 years ago. Thought I was done with wood until I got my first electric bill. Thankfully, there was a tile-lined chimney that extended down to a nipple in the basement, so when my best buddy moved up from his Scandia knock-off to a real Jotul 118, I asked for his old beater stove and he gladly dropped it off at my place.

I took her apart entirely, wire-brushed the joints, put stove caulk in the grooves, bolted it all together again and gave her two or three coats of black stove paint. The inside heat shields were completely warped, so I got some 1/4" steel plate, cut it to the right size and hung them in place.