New to wood burning.... tips and tricks?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

fishki

Jan 5, 2017
SE Kansas
Hello everyone. I have recently purchased and installed an Englander Madison wood stove from Lowes, new double wall stainless chimney, and new double wall stove pipe. This is my first time burning wood, about a month so far. I'm burning a mix of seasoned oak and hedge, the stove is undersized for my house but I knew this when purchasing since I plan on installing a second stove this summer in the back part of the house if all goes well this winter.

I run the stove top temps around 500 - 550, sometimes up to 600. I only have smoke coming out of chimney when I load new wood or start the fire back up in the mornings. Right now its a chilly 16 degrees out and my house is sitting at 71 degrees. (except for the second living room in the back part of house, its in mid 60's).

So far I believe I am doing everything right? But my only issue is the big pile of coals that build up and take forever to burn down so I can scoop out ashes, hope fully that is normal or is there something I am missing?
I usually scoop out about 2/3's of what is in there in the mornings and leave some glowing coals to help start up the fire again in the mornings.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: