New to Wood Burning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BBrookes03

Dec 2, 2016
Billings, Montana
Hello Everyone,
I apologize firstly since I'm sure some of these questions are answered by others, but I've been going through post after post and there is just a ton of information.

Firstly I'd like to say I'm new to wood burning, I originate from the sunny thermostat controlled apartment in Southern California and moved to middle Montana area. The most we had was a fireplace which was for aesthetic looks and burns, not heating a house. So much of this is foreign (like all beginners) and I have some concerns.

The stove I have in our rented cabin is made by United States Stove Company, I've looked on their website to see which model looks similar and it looks like we have a 2,000sqf stove for a 500sqft cabin which is divided into two rooms (about even). However, the design is different as this one stands on 4 legs rather than a stand like the one online, but other than this it looks identical.

My query begins with this.