New Toy for Huffdawg!

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by huffdawg, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    [​IMG]

    Soon to be online
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jebatty

    jebatty
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,203
    Likes Received:
    659
    Loc:
    Northern MN
    How come it's not a black box?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. #3 billb4, Nov 14, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2013
    billb4

    billb4
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    SE Mass
    >>>> Oh-kay ........
    Recognize the electrical box enclosures
    the rest- not so much

    is that a rectal thermometer on the left ?
     
  4. willyswagon

    willyswagon
    Expand Collapse
    Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    107
    Loc:
    PEI, Canada

    Ya I'm looking at that gear and I'm thinking, I'm not going to go play there if that's what he calls "A New Toy!"
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. Coal Reaper

    Coal Reaper
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    250
    Loc:
    NJ
    what all yah got there?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Donl

    Donl
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    5
    Loc:
    Ontario
    I bet you will end up controlling and monitoring more than your boiler. Have fun and enjoy. You will learm alot.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. rkusek

    rkusek
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    34
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    I got that black box with dial on the right, wish I had the rest of it too. How are you using the 4 way valve control?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    [​IMG]
    I have a 150 gal. hydraulic separator and 1000 gals. storage. My 4 way valve is between them its plumbed like the drawing above. as suggested by Bob Rohr
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. Nofossil

    Nofossil
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    60
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    Gee - that hardware looks kinda familiar ;-)

    Can't wait to see it installed and running. Good luck with it, and thanks for sharing.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    I have been hummin and hawing the last few days trying to decide where I'm going to install. It will be installed in a Harry Potter sort of room underneath a stairwell that is adjacent to the boiler room . There is the odd 110v conductor running in the stud bays where I want to install hopefully they won't interfere with the contoller operation.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Nofossil

    Nofossil
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    60
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    Shouldn't be a problem. I'd avoid running sensor cables alongside power lines for long distances, but even that's more of a precaution than a requirement. If you want to use the front panel LEDs as status indicators or use the front panel switch for manual mode setting (Winter / Summer, for instance) then you'd want to put it where you can see it and get to it easily. Otherwise, it really doesn't matter.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Donl

    Donl
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    5
    Loc:
    Ontario
    Huff, While I don't recommend it, I have a 50 foot underground run of 2 inch conduit in which I run 8 sensors, 4 digital outs, 2 ethernet cables along side a 12 gauge 120 volt feed. I've had no problems with this. Also the longest runs I have for sensor and digital cables is 125 feet. Again no problems with this. Very reliable and robust system.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    Install underway[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Nofossil

    Nofossil
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    60
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    Nice! I'd pull the thermocouple back a couple of inches so that the tip is nearer the center of the flue and so that the molded 'handle' isn't touching the hot metal.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. mr.fixit

    mr.fixit
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    21
    Loc:
    west central wi.
    What is this system going to control other than the 4 way?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    2 DHW circs , house supply loop circ, storage circ, shop floor circ, suite floor circ etc.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. mr.fixit

    mr.fixit
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    21
    Loc:
    west central wi.
    Will it replace the factory controller on the EKO?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    No . The boiler is stand alone. But there is a few thing u could control on the boiler if wanted to.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. #20 Nofossil, Nov 21, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2013
    Nofossil

    Nofossil
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    60
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    I'm a bit more hard-core than most (and maybe more than is prudent). I control the blower, the main circulator and the bypass circulator on my EKO with mine. Huff's approach is more reasonable - let the boiler do its own thing, but manage the heat loads and storage to optimize the boiler's operation.

    Here's a chart from last season where I'm controlling the EKO fan (fan scale is % of full speed) to try and hold 1100 degrees combustion temp (combustion temp is divided by 10 to fit on the scale). You can see the purge cycles - have to do that every so often to avoid puffing when running at reduced fan speed.

    While this is possible, I'd regard it as experimental. Varying circulator speed to maintain outlet temp is a lot more straightforward.


    [​IMG]
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  21. Donl

    Donl
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    5
    Loc:
    Ontario
    I would suggest that the VECS controller can provide much better control of the boiler than the standard EKO controller.
    The VECS can monitor stack temperatures, input and output water temperatures and make appropriate adjustments to fan speed to optimise the burn.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    Nofo. Is the graph showing a max temp of 550f for flue temp
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. #23 huffdawg, Nov 22, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2013
    huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    upload_2013-11-21_22-13-43.png

    All righty then.... got some temps popping up on my Vesta Home screen..!!!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. Nofossil

    Nofossil
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    60
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    Nice! Good to see a screen capture. Have you played with datalogging? If you go to the 'Logs' tab and click on any date, you'll get a spreadsheet of all the temps, inputs, outputs, and variables for the day in one minute increments. You can use Excel (or OpenOffice) to make pretty graphs to see what happened.

    Yes, that's 550 degrees flue temp. I have the EKO 25 which has very short HX tubes, leading to higher flue temps than other boilers :-(

    Note that this measurement is VERY different from what you get with the magnetic stick-on flue temp gauges. My magnetic gauge never goes above 250.

    I'm also not sure how well calibrated the thermocouple is. I rely on the mathematics of the circuitry since I don't have a high temperature reference standard, but a second commercial thermocouple gives very similar numbers.

    Part of the reason I'm playing with fan control is to lower the velocity of the flue gasses through the HX tubes and maybe capture an occasional BTU that might have escaped otherwise.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  25. huffdawg

    huffdawg
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    84
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    I'm getting 750f flue temps , tubes must need cleaning.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page