New User, Need Advice Please.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 16, 2008
Michigan
Hello All,

This is my first post as i just joined. I am just getting into wood burning and have a question. Were having a Quadrafire 3100I installed this wednesday in our old masonary fireplace. I am wondering about a bottom block off plate, i talked to the dealer who said they normally do not install them because there is a block off plate at the top where the stainless liner exits the chimney and is capped off. He also said that when they plate at the bottom that it is not an actual plate but some type of non combustible or fireproof insulation in/around the damper to block it off. Is this okay/normal, or has anyone heard of this method and does it work okay? I also have the option to have an insulation blanket wrapped around the liner and was wondering if this was needed, the chimney is an outdoor chimney and it draws very well. Also how much wood is typically needed to burn during the winter months? Right now I have about 6 face cords of hickork, oak, and cherry mixed. I would appreciate any feedback from anyone, Thanks.