New Vogelzang Colonial (TR004) installation and intro!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

anthonyj124

Nov 1, 2014
New England
Hi All!

I've been lurking for months, and finally tackled my installation over the past weekend. All went great! I really have to thank everyone on the forums, I've read so much great information on here that I went from total noob to comfortable picking equipment and doing the install by myself.

Brief history, we bought the house this year and it has a beautiful fireplace, and on that fireplace was a VC vigilant that was well beyond a useful condition. That's actually how I found the site- looking for info on rebuilding the VC. I decided against that however, and we agreed that an insert would be the correct equipment.

INSERT SHOPPING. So many options. Go deep and spend big dollars?? Go cheap and be happy?? I read. And read. And read. Initially I decided on a Drolet Escape, but after an issue with Lowes, my order got dropped and by the time I figured that out- the Drolet was well into back order. My second choice was the Vogelzang Colonial, and lowes could source it for me- so we changed the order and they refunded me a bit of money for the trouble. I wasn't too upset with that.

LINER!! Chimney liner depot. Great people. Answered all my questions and shipped the 25' flex king and all necessary parts super fast.