new wood furnace question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

javier

Aug 27, 2010
Southwest Ohio
So I am new to the wood burning world, but my girlfriend and I just bought a wood furnace add on to help with heating cost this(and in the future of course) winter. The stove is in very good shape but has a bit of surface rust. on the core. Looks like previous owner had some water coming down his chimney that made its way into the top of the unit.
Before I install it I would like to get it into tip top shape. I was going to wire brush it all down and spray it with "high heat" spray paint. Do you all think this is neccisary? The paint is rated to 1200 deg. F. I am thinking that is good, but am too new to know better, if its not. I just want to make sure that I take care of the unit the best I can. What do you all think? Thanks for any advise and all the good reading so far.

Attachments

• 11.jpg
    11.jpg
    96.4 KB · Views: 417
  • 33.jpg
    33.jpg
    151 KB · Views: 407
Not nessary, That looks like its in great shape! You paint that and it will smoke and the smoke will go through the duct work. Spend your extra- time getting firewood!

It sure won't hurt it to spiff it up a bit, but the others are correct, its gonna off gas that paint. Just be aware of that.

That being said, other than cosmetically, you probably aren't really doing much for the stove. You may extend the life by a week or two. ;-)