New Wood stove problems with Carbon Monxide and damper

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave2009

Jan 6, 2009
Eastern Pennsylvania
Hi Everyone,
I am very new to using a wood stove; this is my first post. Great website and very helpful! I am having some issues with my stove and I was hoping for some advice and help.

I purchase a new woodstove this past October (Hampton H300) from a local dealer. Every since we purchase it we been having some problems.

1. I have to keep the damper fully opened or the carbon monoxide dectors goes off
2. Even with the damper fully open (burns great during the day and evening ) but through the night when I wake up it has a reading on the CO (it does not go off, just a reading of 48ppm)

(This does not happen everyday, but every other day)
When I wake up around 6:30a.m. The carbon monoxide detector reads 48 ppm on the digital read out. I open all the doors and windows for 5 minutes and it read 0 ppm. I open the stove and a couple hot coals are in but manly grey ash. I empty the stove out complete and take the ashes and hot coals out side. I am afraid to run during the day during the workweek. (We have pets and I do not want anything to happen to them) Then when I get home from work about 5:30p.m. I fire the stove back up. (During the weekend I run both Saturday and Sunday all day and no problems during the day)

I installed a fresh air kit as recommended by the dealer. It really does not seam to be any different. I had the dealer come over and check everything out and said everything seams fine

1957 Ranch house
1200 S.F.
Oil furnace