Newb needs help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ironspider

Feeling the Heat
Nov 13, 2013
Flanders, NY
Hi guys. I'm a newb to your forum and have read some of the "before posting" stickies but haven't been able to find out the answers I'm looking for.

Background: I had a quadrafire (4100 i think) insert installed in our fireplace many years ago. As an aside, what a great thing these inserts are! This was many years ago and the place that installed it is out of business so there is no record of us buying it or what was done. Well who cares you ask?

I care because i need to get it swept and everyone is asking if it's fully lined. I have no clue, climbing to the top of the chimney for me is a very dangerous proposition to check. So question one: How else will I know if it's fully lined?

Also regarding the liner: Does having a full liner help with expelling smoke or is it simply ease of cleaning? The reason i ask this is that everytime i load the box, no matter what i try, opening slowly, opening a window, waiting until it's only embers, yada yada, I get smoke in the house and the wife yells at me. It's not a lot of smoke but enough where you can really smell it.

So that leads me to: If i have only a half liner or so, does it make sense installing a full liner, and why?

Guys, sorry for the long question from a newb. I greatly appreciate any and all responses (even bashing the newb) as long as there is a little help in there.

Thanks,

Jason