Newbie building a new house and needs GAS fireplace guidance. Help?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Which gas fireplace should I go with, for my situation?

• Keep the builder included Majestic DVM500 Cameo

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Spend some more and get a Travis Xtrordinair or other unit

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

lithnights

Dec 1, 2012
SE PA
I just found this site (love it!) but I am a total newbie to fireplaces. I'm hoping I can get some good answers for my question which is.. WHAT GAS/PROPANE FIREPLACE SHOULD I GET for my new home?

Here are the details that I think are important to my situation.

We are building a home next month via a semi-custom builder. The current home design comes with a propane fireplace in the family room (20x15). But I also want to add a wood burning fireplace in the living room (13x18) which is on the other side of the home. See .jpg floorplan which I hope you can view.

The home is around 3100 sq ft., around 1500 on each floor. Center hall colonial with 2 story foyer. It will have forced hot air and the heating system in the specs is a propane furnace but with the price of propane here (PA), I am leaning towards an electric heat pump with either propane or electric backup. Gas main is 700 feet away and thus not available.