Newbie - Buying a Mt. Vernon AE insert today

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

John97

Feeling the Heat
Nov 18, 2011
Spring Hill, FL
Hi everyone.

I've been kicking around getting a pellet insert for a few years now. Other things kept taking higher priority (financially and otherwise). Recently, I became seriously motivated to move on one. I have a 2800 SF split-level all-electric house. I have dual-zone heat pumps and my electric bill is a killer year-round except for the spring and early fall when no heat or A/C is needed. So, I want the pellet insert to do as much as possible in terms of heating my house.

After doing alot of shopping and researching, I was thisclose to pulling the trigger on a Harman Accentra. Initially, I had been planning on going with the AE but one of the dealers I visited who sold both steered me away from it. Since I had concerns about the significantly lower output of the Accentra versus the AE I kept researching, and decided to give the AE another look.

Yesterday, I visited another dealer and became sold on the AE.

Later this afternoon, I am going back with the wife (for final approval of course) and get the ball rolling. Basic black would be fine by me, but of course she wants the sienna bronze color. As usual, she is good at making me spend extra money.

After doing extensive reading of this forum last night, I made some decisions.