Newbie Eko-60 Install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HeatFarmer

Sep 22, 2011
Montville, Maine
I am a total newbie at this Gasification boiler stuff. Back in Feb of this year I spoke with two local experts who have installed tons of systems and we sketched out a plan where I would do the work, and they would provide some consulting. However, my time frame didn't seem to match theirs and I can't contact them, so I am left dealing with this on my own. I used to build elaborate luxury homes, but this heating system has me stumped.

Attached is a sketch--crude at best--of how the plan might work. I've just ordered an Eko-60 to go in the attached barn on the house. It is roughly 100ft from where 1000 gallons of water storage will some day live--if I can find the tanks which will fit in the cellar..... I'm envisioning two 500 gallon propane tanks. The cellar is under the heat load and stays at a pretty stable temperature. My idea is to pump the tanks full of as much heat as I can crank out of the 60--upwards of 190 to 200F. A Coil in the tanks will feed 6-8 cast iron radiators in the house. Another coil in the tanks will heat DHW. Right now I have a failing on-demand propane unit which I will by-pass and plumb the in/out hot-water line right through the coil in the tank, with a mixing valve placed on the hot-water side of the loop to steady temps. I assume I will need the same thing in the radiator zone. Not sure where or how that would go.