Newbie here...Looking at buying a wood insert and have some questions????

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bach

Oct 15, 2007
Central, Ohio
I was hoping to tap into some of the more experienced wood burners here to help me decide on what type of insert to purchase.

I have a new (built in '03) home that is energy star rated. It is approx 3500+ square feet. Really open floor plan with a masonary fireplace on the main level. Two story ceilings pretty much through out.
We purchased this home at auction and my wife is about to have a heart attact when she heard what our gas bill might be.
So I was thinking of using our fireplace to have an insert installed and supplement our heating bills.
My Dad used a wood stove back when i was a kid and I really enjoyed it, and I would like to show my sons how to use one also.

My questions are....
I'm not wanting to go "off the grid" or anything...just wanted to use it for evenings and weekend type stuff, and more when it's really cold here in Central Ohio...mostly January and Feb. Should I be looking at a insert that has the "stated" heating capacity of 3000 square feet or something more in the range of 2000 square feet?

Our furnace is a 90+. A salesman at a local stove shop told me it will cost me the same in firewood as it would in gas to heat my house given the fact that I have a 90+ furnace and energy star rated house, thats assuming I would have to buy the wood. Does that sound right?