Newbie here looking for advice. I have a 11 year old Jotul Firelight 12 in need of lots of parts. Re

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jay3000

Jul 30, 2008
Greensboro, NC
Nice place by the way. Glad to have somewhere I can ask a question.

OK. Jotul Firelight 12 Cat stove. Big beautiful stove. Dark blue with matching pipes. Needs about $800 or more worth of parts. (still waiting for total costs, if all of the parts are even available)

Burn plate
inner back plate
catalyst
catalyst chamber
catalyst cover
bottom cat chamber
Log retainers
All of the rope seals

This stove has had issues from day one with the catalyst. It was replaced twice under warranty. THe catalyst chamber has been in need of rerplacement for years. The back burn plate has cracked twice before and been replaced. The catalyst chamber cover has been replaced at least twice because the back burn plate warps and breaks it in two.

I honestly think this is just a poorly designed stove and I will always have issues. I like the top load design. The rock enclosure was designed around that feature. It kind of curves around the stove. I suppose I could do a right load stove if that had to be.

At what point do I jump ship and buy something else? And then, What do I get. Is it worth rebuilding again?? It's a beautiful stove. It's installed, but I'm going to be in the same spot several years down the road. The material that surround the catalyst can't stand the heat. The deisign doesn't stand the test of time..

Throw some knowledge my way.

THanks for your help
Jay