Newbie here - looking for suggestions for new woodstove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Green_acres

Apr 11, 2011
Western WA
Hi everyone! I've been reading for a few months, trying to figure out what to do and finally decided to come out of lurk mode and just ask the experts!

I currently have a Country Performer woodstove - the tag says P4157 but it looks like a S260? It's a very nice stove but puts out way too much heat for our needs. It literally blasts us out of the room, even with a slow, controlled burn.

We're remodeling the room and are looking to replace it with a model - either free standing or fireplace - that produces enough heat to warm the room, but not blast us out of it. (We are removing the soffit in the photo to give us some more useable space to the right of the stove)

picture-uh=928073bd2e85cad8eb4d845d93470a7-ps=fbe313c61d82996b22af39bfacd9abd.jpg

Another view:

picture-uh=d02c89d9d36e1fefefc615f3be4fa1-ps=cba4aa2d5e34affb552857981a5496d.jpg

I like the look of the current stove, I just don't like the space it takes up and the fact that it makes the space so hot. Any suggestions? We've looked at the Morso and the Regency brands, but in talking to the folks at the stove stores, they seem to be more interested in making a sale than coming up with creative solutions for the space.

Oh, one more thing - since we have a tile roof, we absolutely cannot re-route the flue.

Thanks!!