newbie here. question on maintenance cleaning out of ash

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tractorboy924

Jul 7, 2008
Western NY
ok so I got a new pellet stove and plan to start using for main heat source. moving from wood stove.

what do people typical do when doing ash clean out. Most of what I read says to clean out cool ashes, I plan to use a ash vac. do you shut down your stoves for a period of time for the ashes to cool. as they collect outside the burnpot do they semi cool down on there own. Unlike a wood stove where the embers are always hot and all in one burning area.

Just need/want some clarification of what people do to clean out ash in the stove.

Thank you all.

I wait for the stove to be completely cold. I only need to clean it out twice a year so it's not an inconvenience.

Once a week I let the stove completely shutdown, after shutdown I dump the burn pot into the ashpan and and then brush what little ash that did not go into the ashpan into the ashpan and then dump outside. Do a quick vacuum and done.ready to roll for another week.

Once a week I let the stove completely shutdown, after shutdown I dump the burn pot into the ashpan and and then brush what little ash that did not go into the ashpan into the ashpan and then dump outside. Do a quick vacuum and done.ready to roll for another week.

jackman. im not sure about time frame it allowing it to be completely cold as I would have concerns about temps in house dropping too much??