Newbie here with a new install consultation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

glenlloyd

Sep 14, 2011
des moines, IA
Good day to you all. I've perused this forum for a while now but only recently became a member when I decided that it was time to put an insert in the fireplace.

I've been looking at inserts for a while and although my house is only 1200 sq ft I've decided I would like as big an insert as will fit in the existing firebox. First because I'd like it to fill the space and second because the burn times are longer for larger fireboxes. Also, because my house is solid masonry, brick exterior and combo brick and tile interior walls, it is hard to heat comfortably and my nat gas bills continue to rise even though I continue to weatherproof the house more each year. Before the snow comes this year I'll have all new storms installed which I've been wanting for a while now.

At any rate, 1200 sq ft, solid masonry, one level and an old but decent existing fireplace that needs to have a good insert so I get some decent heat.

I've settled on a stove the size of the Avalon Olympic and in fact there is a new Olympic available from a third party (bought and never installed) not too far away.