Newbie here, with pellet burn problem on a Harman P43 - help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

toshiyano

Jan 23, 2012
Hudson Valley NY
Hi everyone... been lurking here a while, but now I need some help. I installed a Harman P43 in late October. Bought two tons of O'Malley pellets. Stove worked fine - the pellets burned a little dirty - had to clean the glass a lot - but no real problems.

When the ashcan filled, I cleaned the stove as per owner manual instructions.

Where before the ash was gray and fine, now the ash is black and thick, and i have a lot of sparks flying around. The feed rate has always been set to three, room temp set to high, and thermostat between 70 and 73.

What is going on? I keep my pellets in the garage - is it possible the pellets took on extra moisture? I've re-cleaned the stove, turned the feed rate down, turned the room temp to the middle but the ash is still thick and black.

Hi, I had this problem last Spring. I discovered that the screen outside on my exhaust pipe was full of ash and restricting the airflow. I now remove the screen during the heating months. This is just an idea. But the easiest to check first.

EDIT: If your vent has a screen, anyway it sounds like an airflow issue. If you have an OAK check that too.