Newbie Here

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

broccolishoes

Oct 19, 2023
Hello, I am very very new to the world of wood burning stoves. And I am newly reacquainted with a very chilly part of the country (northwest corner of Connecticut). So let the pursuit for a wood stove (not so interested in an insert) begin.
I would like stove to vent through the existing fireplace. Does the stove need to rear vent to accomplish this? And would the stove need to fit all the way in existing fireplace or can it sit more forward? I assume if it's more forward I get the benefit of the heat that radiates from the unit?
I will probably purchase stove online. Also, and here I cringe showing my inexperience, who do I hire to install? Is it an hvac person? And what I can I expect same to cost.
Budget for stove is approximately $1700.00 and I am hoping for a unit that has the tax credit.
Any and all info welcomed!!!!
Thanks so much,
Susan

20231019_085529.jpg 20231019_085556.jpg

If your not buying they a dealer and having them install it you would look for a chimney sweep to install. What kind of chimney. Your chimney also probably will need an insulated liner. Your price range start looking at drolet or Englander stoves. There are some good budget stoves out there. Do you have wood yet? You can very rarely buy fully seasoned wood, I know most sellers say their wood is seasoned but chances are it isn't. It generally will need a year or more to season before it is ready to burn.

A wood burning insert is also an option they go in the fireplace and usually have a blower to help move heat out to the house