Newbie, insert advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Burnbaby

May 19, 2011
Southern nh
Newbie here, what a wealth of info here, hopefully I'll be able to contribute soon. I'm extremely interested in cutting, splitting, and burning wood.(wife and friends think I'm crazy for enjoying a day cutting wood). I would like to heat my t-shaped ranch mostly with a wood insert. Here's the layout it's a basic ranch with an addition dead center in back with cathedral ceilings about 250 sq ft, from that room an 8 ft opening to a 200 sq ft kitchen, another 6 ft opening to dining room 175 sq ft. All of these rooms are in a row with the insert going at the far end of addition. The addition is 10 years old with brick masonry fireplace that's been used under 5 times. My question is will an insert heat this area quite comfortably? Will an englander insert do the job, I like the price and has good reviews.( I would prefer the englander) my other stove I'm looking at is regency hearth heater, but it's more money. I'm hoping the englander would do the job any advice, info appreciated.

Welcome to the hearth forum. Be sure to visit the Wood Shed forum here too. Lots of wood chatter there.

The Englander insert is medium sized and it should heat the addition ok. But whether it will heat the rest of the house in the dead of winter may be debatable. I suspect the rooms at the far ends of the ranch may get a bit short changed. What's the total sq ftg of the whole house?