Newbie looking to swap gas fireplace with wood zero clearance

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Withoutink

Sep 16, 2015
North Georgia
Hi All,

Newbie here, I have been lurking and trying to get up to speed on Zero Clearance fireplaces. My wife and I live in the North GA mountains in a 3 floor home ~4000 sq ft (that includes a finished basement). The house has three exterior heat pump/ac units, one for each floor. The people who built the house installed a gas fireplace, which was never connected to gas. So, it's been sitting there wasting space. There is I guess what you would call a false chimney, which is shrouded at the very top. I will take some pics later and append them to this post for further clarity.

Anyway, we are looking to pull out the unused gas firebox & gas logs and replace it with a zero clearance wood fireplace. Then have a flue dropped down the false chimney and connected to the fireplace.

We have a budget of about $5.5k or so total (for fireplace, chimney flue, demo, installation and finishing). We spoke to a fireplace company near our home, and they figured we should budget:

$1k-1.2k to setup the double wall chimney flue pipe
$1k for labor (install flue, demo, install fireplace, install surround, mantle etc)
$3k+/- for a High Efficiency Zero Clearance wood fireplace

Note: this is all ball park mind you, they haven't come out yet to measure or do a site survey, this is based on photos I showed them.

Here are the fireplaces he showed us: